Members of the NIH Working Group on Women in Biomedical Careers (as of 1/9/2020)


Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., Director, NIH
Janine Austin Clayton, M.D., Director, Office of Research on Women’s Health

Institute and Center Directors

Joshua A. Gordon, M.D., Ph.D., Director, National Institute of Mental Health
Griffin P. Rodgers, M.D., M.A.C.P., Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases

Office of the Director

Benjamin Butler, J.D., Senior Attorney, Office of the General Counsel (Ex-Officio)
Debra C. Chew, J.D., Director, Office of Equal, Diversity, and Inclusion
Belinda Seto, Ph.D., Special Advisor, Immediate Office of the Director
Lawrence Tabak, D.D.S., Ph.D., Principal Deputy Director
Hannah Valantine, M.D., Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity

Intramural Research

Susan Amara, Ph.D., Chief & Scientific Director, National Institute of Mental Health
M. Catherine Bushnell, Ph.D., Scientific Director, National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
Samantha Fede, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Edward Giniger, Ph.D., Senior Investigator, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
Michael Gottesman, M.D., Deputy Director for Intramural Research
Elizabeth Murphy, Ph.D., Senior Investigator, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Elaine Ostrander, Ph.D., Chief & NIH Distinguished Investigator, Cancer Genetics and Comparative Genomics Branch, National Human Genome Research Institute
Joan Schwartz, Ph.D., Special Volunteer, Office of Intramural Research
Kathryn Zoon, Ph.D., Scientist Emeritus, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Extramural Research

Marie Bernard, M.D., Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity
Jodi Black, Ph.D., Deputy Director, Office of Extramural Research
Judith H. Greenberg, Ph.D., Deputy Director, National Institute of General Medical Sciences
Joyce Ann Hunter, Ph.D., Deputy Director, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
Michelle Jones-London, Ph.D., Chief, Office of Programs to Enhance Neuroscience Workforce Diversity
Michael S. Lauer, M.D., Deputy Director for Extramural Research
P. Kay Lund, Ph.D., Director, Division of Biomedical Research Workforce, Office of Extramural Research
Pamela Marino, Ph.D., Program Director, Division of Pharmacology, Physiology, and Biological Chemistry; Co-Director, Pharmacology Research Associate Program, National Institute of General Medical Sciences


Page last updated on August 19, 2021

Back to Top